The Beauty of Me

My glory is majestic
My power is unmatched
Bow in my presence
The splendor of me

Conceit you say?
No, it’s truth
I may be mortal
Albeit better than you

Say my name with respect
Utter of my doings with care
Hold me in honor
The reverence of me

Conceit some suggest?
I definitely disagree
I’m only human
Although worth more than thee

Behold me and become green
Gaze upon me and see red
I am stunning and gorgeous
The beauty of me

Conceit they propose?
It’s only a fact
I live among the mortals
Being much greater than all

© 2012 The Refined Poet. All rights reserved.

Inspiration: Poem relating the extreme conceit of some people. We all should be on guard against worshipping the idol of self and demanding others to be converts. Based upon Proverbs 18:2 – Before destruction the heart of man is proud, but before honor is humility. ~TRP~

Leave a Reply

